Loose wheel

Steved55

VIP Member
T6 Guru
Hi all. 500 miles into trip down to Italy, luckily on a back road in a village when I thought we had a flat. Turns out nsf wheel was loose! I fitted my spare set of 18"wheels for the trip as they had new tires but used 15mm spacers and extended bolts. I'm confident the bolts are correct profile for the wheel. Other 3 wheels fine and done a further 200 miles since jacking up and re tightening. Any other explanation other than operator error when fitting?
Steve

Eek, could have been nasty. Did you grease the bolts? Were they properly torqued or done feel? Did you re-check the torque after 50 miles or so? Maybe the wheel or spacer wasn’t quite seated correctly. Are the bolt’s definitely long enough rather than just adding 15mm to the other bolts?

Tbh bolts were tightened by hand, not torqued - but I've been tightening bolts by hand for over 50 years and am comfortable that I tighten adequately. If the spacer hadn't seated properly - it does utilize a spigot ring, I would have thought I would have had vibration from the start? Bolts engage for about 10 threads so plenty long

Tbh bolts were tightened by hand, not torqued - but I've been tightening bolts by hand for over 50 years and am comfortable that I tighten adequately. If the spacer hadn't seated properly - it does utilize a spigot ring, I would have thought I would have had vibration from the start? Bolts engage for about 10 threads so plenty long
Should be tightened to 180nm which is pretty tight by hand. I bought a torque wrench for wheels and brake calipers and it’s some force to hit the 180.